Burundi–Democratic Republic of the Congo

The boundary between Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) spans in a generally north-south direction, entirely along water bodies, for 243 km through the Rusizi River and Lake Tanganyika. The border was first established by Belgian and German Colonial authorities and has remained the same since both countries’ independence in the 1960s.

Burundi – Democratic Republic of Congo land boundary map

For access to the full Burundi–Democratic Republic of the Congo Boundary Brief, contact us.

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE