The Algeria–Morocco boundary extends for 1,984 km and is primarily based on French colonial borders. The northern section of the boundary was first delimited in the 1845 Treaty of Lalla-Marnia. Algeria and Morocco formed a joint boundary commission in 1970 and established the southern section of the border in their 1972 Convention.

The border has been closed since the early 1990s and is a reflection of the particularly tense relations between Algeria and Morocco. Several contentious issues have marred relations between the two countries, including the Sand War, the closure of the border, and the ongoing dispute concerning the status of Western Sahara. Morocco claims Western Sahara as a Moroccan province, but the indigenous population of the territory, the Sahrawi, have campaigned to become an independent state. The dispute erupted into conflict, and Algeria has provided humanitarian and military aid to the Sahrawi, which has exacerbated tensions with the Moroccan government.

Purchase the Algeria–Morocco Land Boundary Brief

$15.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE