The modern-day land boundary between Kenya and Tanzania stems from the nineteenth century division of the colonies of German East Africa and British East Africa. It begins in Lake Victoria at the tripoint with Uganda and extends for 777 kilometers (483 miles), mostly following a series of straight lines, to the Indian Ocean coast. The boundary was fully demarcated by the colonial powers, and Kenya and Tanzania are actively working toward a complete, modern re-demarcation. There are no disputes over the location of the frontier, and Kenya and Tanzania share generally positive and cooperative relations.

Map showing the land boundary between Kenya and Tanzania

Kenya and Tanzania also have an established maritime boundary.

Purchase the Kenya–Tanzania Land Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE