Denmark–Germany (Baltic Sea)

The maritime boundary between Denmark and Germany in the Baltic Sea is composed of two discontinuous lines. The eastern section of the boundary between the German mainland and the Danish Island of Bornholm runs from a point near Swedish maritime space to a point near Polish maritime space and spans 39 nautical miles. It was delimited in a 1988 Agreement based on a modified form of equidistance.

The western section was also established by the 1988 Agreement, and it starts at an approximate tripoint with Sweden, then extends in a generally west-southwest direction for 68 nautical miles, passing between the mainland of Germany and the Danish islands lying east of mainland Denmark.

This western section of the boundary originates at a point lying more than 70 nautical miles seaward of the terminus the two States’ land boundary. This near-shore area of overlapping exclusive economic zone claims has been defined by both States in identical unilateral decrees—in 1994 for Germany and 1996 for Denmark—but this boundary has never been agreed to bilaterally.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Denmark and Germany in the Baltic Sea.

Denmark and Germany also have an established land boundary as well as another maritime boundary in the North Sea.

Purchase the Denmark–Germany (Baltic Sea) Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE