Burkina Faso–Ghana

The Burkina Faso–Ghana boundary extends for just over 600 km from the tripoint with Côte d’Ivoire in the west to the tripoint with Togo in the east, following a combination of rivers, watersheds, and straight line segments. Initially delimited in general terms in an Anglo–French convention in 1898, the boundary was described in detail in Exchanges of Notes between France and Great Britain in 1904 and 1906. Demarcation first took place in 1904 and has been improved in stages over the years. Despite some questions as to whether the demarcation precisely matches the textual definition of the boundary (particularly along the 11° North parallel), there do not appear to be any disputes concerning the boundary.

Map showing the land boundary between Burkina Faso and Ghana

Purchase the Burkina Faso–Ghana Land Boundary Brief

$15.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE