An initial segment of the maritime boundary nearest the coasts of the States’ relevant islands was delimited through a bilateral agreement that was reached on 17 December 1974. The boundary was then extended in 1977 in both directions; to the northeast into the Andaman Sea, and to the southwest into the Indian Ocean. The India–Indonesia maritime boundary is almost 300 nautical miles in length and delimits the overlapping maritime entitlements generated by India’s Nicobar Islands and Indonesia’s Sumatra Island.

On 22 June 1978, India, Indonesia, and Thailand signed an agreement fixing the location of their tripoint in the Andaman Sea at point T.

Map showing the maritime boundary between India and Indonesia

Purchase the India (Andaman Islands and Nicobar Islands)–Indonesia Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE