After the first Gulf War in 1991, the territorial sea boundary between Iraq and Kuwait was established by a United Nations demarcation commission that also provided a detailed delimitation of their land boundary in 1993. The United Nations Commission determined that Kuwait had sovereignty over Warbah and Bubiyan islands and defined the initial segment of their maritime boundary. This boundary extends for about 25 nautical miles and follows an equidistance line through the Khowr Abd Allah. The remainder of the maritime boundary between Iraq and Kuwait has yet to be determined.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Iraq and Kuwait

Iraq and Kuwait also share a land boundary.

Purchase the Iraq–Kuwait Maritime Boundary Brief Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE