On 6 August 2020, the governments of Egypt and Greece, also known as the Hellenic Republic, agreed to a partial delimitation of their overlapping exclusive economic zone claims in the eastern Mediterranean Sea. This maritime frontier is defined by five points (A–E), and the geodesic line segments that interconnect these points form a boundary line that extends for 104 nautical miles. The boundary traverses the eastern Mediterranean Sea in a generally east to west direction.

This new Egypt–Greece maritime boundary represents only a partial delimitation of the parties’ overlapping maritime entitlements, and it passes through a portion of the Mediterranean Sea where Libya and Turkey have also made claims to the continental shelf.

Both Parties have recognized the need for continued negotiations to fully delimit their overlapping maritime entitlements in the region.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Egypt and Greece

Purchase the Egypt–Greece Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE