Kiribati (Line Islands)–United States (Jarvis Island)

Kiribati is an island State located in the Pacific Ocean with territory spread among the Phoenix Islands, Line Islands and Gilbert Islands. The United States of America controls several islands in the Pacific, five of which are within 400 nautical miles of Kiribati and necessitate a maritime boundary. In 2013, Kiribati and the United States signed an agreement delimiting all their areas of overlapping maritime entitlements. The Agreement established three separate line segments between the various features. One of the defined boundaries separates Kiribati’s Line Islands from the United States’ Jarvis Island, which traverses the waters of the Pacific Ocean for 548 nautical miles in a north-south direction.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Kiribati and the United States

Kiribati and the United States share two additional maritime boundaries, located between the Line Islands–Palmyra Atoll & Kingman Reef and the Phoenix Islands–Baker & Howland Islands.


Purchase the Kiribati (Line Islands)–United States (Jarvis Island) Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE