On 18 February 2014, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Estonia agreed to establish a maritime boundary passing through the Gulf of Narva and into the Gulf of Finland. The boundary is a modified equidistance line with each point roughly equidistant from the respective Party’s coast. The Agreement, however, has not been ratified by either government due to long-standing political tensions. The maritime boundary spans 66 nautical miles and is defined by nine turning points. It begins in the southeast at the land boundary terminus in the Narva River and ends in the northwest at a provisional tripoint location with Finland.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Estonia and Russia


Purchase the Estonia–Russia Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE