The land boundary between Ethiopia and Kenya was initially defined in 1907 by the United Kingdom and the Empire of Ethiopia. It was redefined in 1947, demarcated in the 1950s, and finally approved in 1970 by now-independent Kenya and Ethiopia. The northern tripoint with South Sudan has yet to be defined due to the adjacent Ilemi Triangle dispute, leaving sovereignty of approximately 214 km of boundary in flux between Kenya and South Sudan. From there, the established Ethiopia–Kenya frontier runs for 880 km to the tripoint with Somalia in the east. Recently, Ethiopia and Kenya began bilateral efforts on a modern redemarcation of their frontier. This process is ongoing.

Map showing the land boundary between Ethiopia and Kenya

Purchase the Ethiopia–Kenya Land Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE