Burkina Faso–Togo

The boundary between Burkina Faso and Togo extends for 132 kilometers from the tripoint with Benin in the east to the tripoint with Ghana in the west. The modern frontier is based on the colonial boundary of French Sudan and German Togo. Following a series of general agreements regarding Franco–German spheres of influence in West Africa, a more detailed delimitation was agreed to in 1912. Although Germany lost control over Togoland following the first world war, the boundary endured and was accepted by Burkina Faso and Togo following independence from France in 1960.

Map showing the land boundary between Burkina Faso and Togo

Purchase the Burkina Faso–Togo Land Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE