Liberia–Sierra Leone

Extending for 327 km, the Liberia–Sierra Leone land boundary follows a combination of rivers, straight lines, and a meridian. It was originally established in 1885 between the United Kingdom’s colonial government of Sierra Leone and independent Liberia, though the border would change several times throughout the colonial period. The border follows the left bank of the Mano River and the thalwegs of other frontier rivers. The boundary was jointly demarcated on several occasions during the early 20th century by Anglo–Liberian commissions. There are no disputes regarding the border, and it has not changed since Sierra Leone’s independence.

Purchase the Liberia–Sierra Leone Land Boundary Brief

$20.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE