Croatia and Italy have a maritime boundary that extends for approximately 370 nautical miles through the Adriatic Sea. This continental shelf border was initially established by Italy and Yugoslavia in 1968 and followed a modified equidistance line giving partial effect to four islands: Jabuka, Palagruža, and Galijula (Yugoslavia/Croatia) and Pianosa (Italy).

In 2005, the two states agreed to update the original coordinate values for the points established in 1968 by referencing them into the modern WGS-84 datum. The territorial sea portion of the frontier that was first delimited between Italy and Yugoslavia in 1975 was not included in the 2005 update.

Croatia – Italy maritime boundary map

Purchase the Croatia–Italy Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE