Cyprus–United Kingdom (Akrotiri and Dhekelia)

Prior to 1960, Cyprus was a colony of the United Kingdom. Cyprus received its independence on 16 August 1960 in the same Agreement that delimited its land and maritime frontiers with the British. This Agreement provided the UK with control over its two Sovereign Base Areas (SBAs), Akrotiri and Dhekelia, both located in southern Cyprus. The two States have maritime boundaries that extend from their four land boundary termini, and they delimit the territorial seas of Cyprus and the UK.

map of the maritime boundary between Cyprus and the UK bases of Akrotiri & Dhekelia

Purchase the Cyprus–United Kingdom Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE