The maritime boundary between India’s Nicobar Islands and Thailand’s Simlan Islands is based on the principle of equidistance and extends from a tripoint with Indonesia in the south to a tripoint with Myanmar in the north. The boundary goes in a north – south direction through the southern Andaman Sea for approximately 115 nautical miles.

India and Thailand reached this boundary agreement on 22 June 1978, and it was immediately followed by a tripoint agreement with Indonesia later that same day. The agreement on the northern tripoint with Myanmar was finally reached on 27 October 1993.

Map showing the maritime boundary between India and Thailand

Purchase the India–Thailand Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE