Germany–United Kingdom

The relatively diminutive continental shelf boundary between Germany and the United Kingdom was established through a bilateral agreement reached in 1971. Following the International Court of Justice’s 1969 Judgment in the North Sea Continental Shelf cases between Denmark–Germany and the Netherlands–Germany, these new lateral boundaries both extended seaward into maritime areas that overlapped with the claims of the United Kingdom, thus creating a small area where the maritime spaces of Germany and the United Kingdom would abut and require delimitation.  

The Germany–United Kingdom maritime frontier is comprised of only three points, two of which are tripoints; one in the north with Denmark, and the other in the south with the Netherlands. 

Map showing the maritime boundary between Germany and the UK

Purchase the Germany–United Kingdom Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE