Ethiopia–South Sudan

The land boundary between the modern-day states of Ethiopia and South Sudan was formed between various British colonial holdings (Kenya, Sudan, and Uganda) and the Kingdom of Ethiopia during the early 20th century. It was revisited by independent Sudan and Ethiopia in 1972, where they accepted and adjusted the colonial frontier, mostly to the north of the modern-day Ethiopia–South Sudan portion of the boundary, which remains somewhat vaguely defined in places. It runs for 1,114 km from the tripoint with Sudan in the north to the beginning of the Ilemi Triangle dispute between Kenya and South Sudan. The tripoint with Kenya has yet to be defined due to this conflict, and a remaining 214 km of boundary with Ethiopia is claimed by both South Sudan and Kenya.

Map showing the land boundary between Ethiopia and South Sudan

Purchase the Ethiopia–South Sudan Land Boundary Brief

$20.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE