The maritime boundary between Argentina and Uruguay was established through a bilateral agreement that was reached in 1973. In addition to delimiting the maritime boundary between the two States, the Treaty closed off the Río de la Plata in an apparent historic bay claim, while also setting out navigation and resource exploitation rights in these enclosed waters.

map of the Argentina – Uruguay maritime boundary

Argentina and Uruguay also share a land boundary.

Purchase the Argentina–Uruguay Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE