Norway–United Kingdom

The Norway–United Kingdom maritime boundary was first established through a bilateral agreement that was reached in 1965. This initial boundary was later extended northward in 1978. A 2009 exchange of notes established the continental shelf boundary as the boundary of their exclusive economic zones, thus creating an all-purpose maritime boundary between Norway and the United Kingdom.

The boundary is defined by geodesic line segments connecting 26 defined turning points that span a total of 498 nautical miles. Tripoints with Denmark are situated at both the northern and southern endpoints of the boundary line.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Norway and the United Kingdom

Purchase the Norway–United Kingdom Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE