Denmark (Faroe Islands)–Norway

The continental shelf boundary between Denmark’s Faroe Islands and Norway was first established through a 1979 bilateral agreement. The boundary begins at a tripoint equidistant from the Faroe Islands, the United Kingdom’s Shetland Islands, and Norway, and extends north for 33 nautical miles until reaching the intersection of the 200 nautical mile limits of the Faroe Islands and Norway. 

Denmark, Norway, and Iceland agreed to a framework for delimiting their overlapping extended continental shelf claims in the area commonly referred to as the “Banana Hole” during trilateral discussions in 2006. The agreement was officially signed in 2019. The Denmark–Norway portion of the extended continental shelf boundary is 151 nautical miles in length.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Denmark and Norway

Purchase the Denmark (Faroe Islands)–Norway Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE