Lithuania–Russia (Kaliningrad)

Following the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, the Russian Federation and the Republic of Lithuania signed three Agreements determining their maritime border in the southeastern Baltic Sea. While Russia proper does not extend far into the Baltic Sea, the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad has three Baltic Sea maritime boundaries: one with Lithuania to the north, one with Sweden to the northwest and a third with Poland to the south.

Established in 1997, the maritime boundary between Lithuania and Kaliningrad extends from the land boundary terminus on the Baltic coastline for 77 nautical miles to the tripoint with Sweden, which was agreed to by Russia, Lithuania and Sweden in 2005. Although the maritime boundary itself is established and uncontested, historical animosities and current political conflicts have made relations tense between Lithuania and Russia.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Lithuania and Russia

Purchase the Lithuania–Russia (Kaliningrad) Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE