In 1991, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan declared independence from the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR). Thereafter, it became necessary for the two States to turn their previous internal administrative borders into an international frontier. The border extends for approximately 942 kilometers (585 miles) and begins at a de facto tripoint with Uzbekistan in the Fergana Valley, continues in a southerly and then easterly direction through the Pamir-Alai and Trans-Alai Mountain Ranges, and ends at an official tripoint with China. Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan have yet to formally implement modern boundary delimitation and demarcation practices for their frontier, which has caused a number of transboundary conflicts and localized disputes. The two States are actively negotiating the location of the border and have made some recent progress towards its demarcation.

Measures related to demarcation have restricted interstate mobility of people and resources, which led to increasing unrest along the border, with two notable flare ups occurring in 2021 and 2022. There is a complex boundary situation in the Fergana Valley, including two Tajik exclaves in southern Kyrgyzstan, Kayragach and Vorukh, which has slowed progress on delimitation. Despite these setbacks, as of 2023, the countries have both made strides to limit the extent of conflict, maintain positive relations with one another, and continue to make progress towards boundary delimitation and demarcation.

Map showing the land boundary between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan


Purchase the Kyrgyzstan–Tajikistan Land Boundary Brief

$20.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE