The maritime boundary between Germany and the Netherlands extends through the North Sea for 177 nautical miles in a northwesterly direction. It begins off the coasts of the East and West Frisian Islands to avoid the disputed Ems-Dollard Estuary, which the two States provisionally divided in 1962, and ends at a tripoint with the United Kingdom. A short portion of the continental shelf boundary was defined in 1964 and later extended in 1971, following the decision by the International Court of Justice in the North Sea cases between Denmark, Germany, and the Netherlands. In 2014, the two States agreed to a portion of their territorial sea boundary lying just beyond the Ems-Dollard Estuary.


Map showing the maritime boundary between Germany and the Netherlands


Germany and the Netherlands also have an established land boundary.


Purchase the Germany–Netherlands Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE