The continental shelf boundary between Libya and Tunisia was established by the International Court of Justice in a Judgment handed down in 1982. The ruling was then confirmed by the Parties through a bilateral agreement that was reached in 1988. The boundary is comprised of two segments and extends from Ras Adjir on the north African coast for 152 nautical miles into the southern Mediterranean Sea. The configuration and lengths of both States’ coasts, and their existing hydrocarbon concessions, were key factors in the Court’s delimitation of the boundary line. The territorial sea portion of the boundary, and the tripoint with Malta have not yet been officially established.

Libya – Tunisia maritime boundary map

Libya and Tunisia also share a land boundary.

Purchase the Libya–Tunisia Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE