The maritime boundary between Latvia and Sweden is unique in that it is not officially acknowledged by either Party. Sweden maintains that the historic maritime boundary negotiated with the former Soviet Union, which included Latvia, is valid and in force, while the modern-day, post-independence Baltic States, including Latvia, disagree. Latvia has recognized Sweden’s position, without explicitly stating their acceptance, by agreeing to delimit tripoints at either end of the boundary. To date, Sweden and Latvia have not concluded a bilateral agreement on their maritime boundary, instead content to maintain the status quo.

The 1988 Agreement between the former Soviet Union and Sweden, which established the current status quo, did not individually delimit boundaries for each of the three Baltic States (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania). It instead established one continuous boundary between the collective Soviet Union and Sweden. The entirety of the 1988 boundary is composed of 17 coordinate points. The portion of this boundary that applies to modern-day Latvia extends for 128 nautical miles between an established tripoint with Estonia in the north and a de facto tripoint with Lithuania in the south.


Map showing the maritime boundary between Latvia and Sweden


Purchase the Latvia–Sweden Maritime Boundary Brief

$5.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE