The boundary between Egypt and Israel stretches 206 kilometers (128 miles) along the eastern edge of the Sinai Peninsula from the de facto tripoint with Palestine (Gaza) to the Gulf of Aqaba in the Red Sea. The modern land boundary between Israel and Egypt was confirmed in a 1979 Peace Treaty that ended a three-decade long war between the two countries. The boundary is based on a historic 1906 Agreement delimiting the frontier between the Ottoman Empire and British-controlled Egypt. The southern end of the boundary was reaffirmed by a 1988 Arbitral Award, and the entirety of the modern boundary has been demarcated and is actively maintained.

Map showing the land boundary between Egypt and Israel

Purchase the Egypt–Israel Land Boundary Brief

$20.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE