The land boundary between Ghana and Togo runs in a north-south direction for 1,105 kilometers from the tripoint with Burkina Faso to the Atlantic Ocean. France and the United Kingdom gained control of German Togoland during World War I and officially divided the territory between them in 1919. This boundary was confirmed by the League of Nations in 1922, with the establishment of British and French Mandated Territories of Togoland. In 1929, the colonial powers better defined the frontier between the Togolands, which was confirmed in a 1930 Exchange of Notes. Upon independence, British Togo joined the former British colony of the Gold Coast to form the modern state of Ghana. The boundary has been re-demarcated since independence, and Ghana and Togo are currently negotiating their maritime boundary.

Map showing the land boundary between Ghana and Togo

Purchase the Ghana–Togo Land Boundary Brief

$15.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE