France (Saint Martin)–Netherlands (Sint Maarten)

The 88 sq. km Caribbean island of Saint Martin/Sint Maarten has been divided between France and the Netherlands since the Treaty of Concordia in 1648. The boundary shifted more than a dozen times between 1648 and 1816 between several different colonial powers before settling into its current alignment, which gives French Saint Martin the northern 62% of the island and Dutch Sint Maarten the southern 38%. Saint Martin is an outermost region of the European Union but, Sint Maarten is not an EU territory; nevertheless, the border is open and largely invisible on the ground. Recent efforts by the French and Dutch governments to agree to a precise delimitation of the 15 km land boundary have been hindered by a dispute concerning the alignment of the line in the vicinity of Oyster Pond on the east coast.

Saint Martin and Sint Maarten also have an established maritime boundary.

Purchase the France (Saint Martin)–Netherlands (Sint Maarten) Land Boundary Brief

$15.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE