The international boundary between Tanzania and Uganda extends from the tripoint
with Kenya in Lake Victoria west for 393 km to the tripoint with Rwanda. It was initially
delimited in 1890 as part of the Agreement on British and German colonial spheres of
influence in Africa. Adjustments were then made in 1910, and the portion of the frontier
west of Lake Victoria was demarcated. The two States are currently involved in modern
re-demarcation efforts scheduled for completion by 2020 in compliance with the African
Union’s request for bilateral boundary reaffirmations.

Map showing the land boundary between Uganda and Tanzania


Purchase the Tanzania–Uganda Land Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE