The Guinea–Senegal boundary was established through decrees by the government of France in 1915 and 1933, when the two States were territories in the colonial federation of French West Africa. The boundary has a general east-west alignment between tripoints with Mali and Guinea-Bissau, which are 255 kilometers apart as the crow flies. However, because the boundary follows sinuous rivers for much of its course, the total boundary length is 383 kilometers. The line appears to be sparsely demarcated, and French mapping published after the delimitation shows the boundary departing from the alignment described in the official Decrees. This has led to uncertainty concerning sovereignty over at least one border village (Diaka, which was confirmed as belonging to Guinea in 2017), but generally the boundary does not appear to be the source of any significant tension between Guinea and Senegal.

Map showing the land boundary between Guinea and Senegal

Purchase the Guinea–Senegal Land Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE