The land boundary between Ethiopia and Sudan extends for 753 km from the tripoint with Eritrea in the north to the tripoint with South Sudan. It was initially established between the United Kingdom, on behalf of the Anglo–Egyptian Condominium of Sudan, and independent Ethiopia in 1902. It was then unilaterally demarcated by British surveyors in 1903, which was never accepted by Ethiopia. In 1972, Ethiopia and now independent Sudan sought to settle their boundary more conclusively, and by exchange of notes accepted the 1902 boundary Treaty, most of the 1903 demarcation, and made some adjustments to the location of the border. The 1972 Exchange of Notes called for a modern redemarcation of the boundary, and the two States have worked intermittently on bilateral surveying and monumenting works since. As of 2019, redemarcation work is still ongoing. There are no official disputes along the border, but there are localized territorial conflicts between Sudanese and Ethiopian farmers in the Al-Fashaga region of Sudan.

Map showing the land boundary between Ethiopia and Sudan

Purchase the Ethiopia–Sudan Land Boundary Brief

$20.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE