Extending for 1,049 km from the tripoint with Libya in the Sahara desert to the Mediterranean coastline, the Algeria–Tunisia boundary follows a combination of straight lines between boundary markers as well as various natural and anthropogeographic features. The border was first established during the colonial era and was inherited by both countries following their independence. Joint boundary commissions demarcated the southern portion of the border following a 1970 agreement and then the northern section of the border after a 1983 agreement. There are no border disputes between the two countries, and they share relatively stable relations.

Algeria and Tunisia also have an established maritime boundary.

For access to the full Algeria–Tunisia Boundary Brief, contact us.

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE