Finland and Russia share a maritime boundary which extends for 62 nautical miles, from the land boundary terminus in the Gulf of Finland, westward to a tripoint with Estonia. The course of the boundary is impacted by islands lying off Finland’s coast which serve as the basis for their straight baselines and by Russian-controlled islands which generate territorial sea and other maritime jurisdiction claims. The maritime boundary was initially established in a series of agreements between Finland and the Soviet Union (USSR) from 1940 to 1985. The Agreements have been maintained by Finland and Russia following the dissolution of the USSR and delimit the boundary of their territorial waters, continental shelves, fishing zones and exclusive economic zones.

Map showing the maritime boundary between Finland and Russia

Purchase the Finland–Russia Maritime Boundary Brief

$10.00Add to cart

Linked In YouTube
Subscribe to our newsletter (and receive a free map!) SUBSCRIBE